• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

So... I told my pastor that I believe a man having more than one wife is not a sin

As a Pastor myself I know well the pressure of the office & the challenges of it. I run into many fellow Pastors that know many true doctrines that aren't taught in the churches they serve, when we discuss issues they avoid with the body I often press them to why they don't take a stand.

When I was a youth I was asked to give a lesson to the church on a Wednesday night. I was kind of naive at the time and so gave a lesson on differences I saw between the church in scripture and our church (nothing to do with polygamy). It ended up causing a huge controversy and I recall at one point the pastor turning aside a couple of Sundays later and quietly saying to me that he totally agreed with me, but if he said so he would lose his job. I was shocked. It was a rude awakening to how the church really worked.

I try not to be too hard on the church though, for fear the husband may take her side against me.

The fear of man bringeth a snare: but whoso putteth his trust in the LORD shall be safe. - Proverbs 29:25

And the cares of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, and the lusts of other things entering in, choke the word, and it becomes unfruitful. - Mark 4:19

For there are many unruly and vain talkers and deceivers, specially they of the circumcision: Whose mouths must be stopped, who subvert whole houses, teaching things which they ought not, for filthy lucre's sake. - Titus 1:10-11

Now while that last verse applies directly to paid pastors be careful, the first two cut both ways, bringing to my mind our recent discussions about what to call our second women when interacting with potentially hostile people.