• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

courage to face challenges of leading multiple wives

Sean Miller

Male
Hello fellow brothers in Christ! I'm fairly new to polgony and recently took a second wife, I just admit I was prepared for the challenges as my 1st marriage faced multiple challenges in teaching and growing my wife in maturity in the Lord as well as in real life relationships. I took a second wife despite my 1st wife's wishes for me not to, I guess you could say I was brave but I think deep down I trusted her and God that it would be okay! Sure enough it took some adjusting but now my 1st wife who was apposed to the idea is happier and or marriage stronger. She mentioned to me the other night how she now realizes how she was intended and designed for this type of family.

I don't believe it's a man's obligation to ask permission or approval of his wife to take another, if your doing this your not really in charge of leading your family or you're home. I've seen this discussed in other posts as well. Let's not mistake this for me not careing about my wife's feelings and thoughts, as I do very much, however years of experience in marriage had taught me about of the times my wife doesn't know what's best or the correct choices to make. When i don't know I typically I take a blood step of faith trusting God it's the right choice. This hasn't failed me yet, or I should say, He hasn't failed me yet!