• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Gods calling

Jessie

Real Person*
Female
I'd love some womens perspective on this. More so women that have been exactly where I am. So the question is...
If God actually called my husband to marry more than me after 10 yrs why is it that I cannot easily throw up my hands, submit to it without so many feelings and emotions involved??? When does that part get easier ladies??
If yall only KNEW what basic training I'm putting myself through to be that diamond in the rough, if you will. Pinterest will have a new category after I am done. "DIY submitting wife in training. Totally self taught in 5 weeks or less. After walking through fire, brokeness and whatever other fresh hell comes along to attack you, your mental state through thick callus won't feel a thing ever again and you and your sisterwives and husband will be on a journey of a lifetime!"
Sign me up!!!

why is it that I cannot easily throw up my hands, submit to it without so many feelings and emotions involved???

Because it's human nature. Not only do we live in a culture where poly is viewed as abusive and unloving but I also think it just goes against human nature. I don't think the women in the OT just rolled with it without any emotions or feelings. It was the norm, but I think human emotions are the norm too. I have a feeling some probably struggled too. Our flesh tends to be the opposite of what love is described as, so even if poly was more normal then, it still rebels against the sin nature living within us.