• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Hello from New Zealand - Husband's version

FollowingHim

Administrator
Staff member
Real Person
Male
I've been discussing things on this forum for a while now but haven't got around to introducing myself, although my wife has. So hello everyone!

I'm an agricultural researcher, and live on a farm in New Zealand, off the electricity grid (which makes life interesting at times). One wife, and four living children all under four years (although I haven't met the fourth yet as he/she is still hiding inside my wife, very antisocial these babies sometimes), plus two that we know of in heaven.

I have long known there was nothing wrong with polygyny, this was impressed on me as a teenager just through my own Bible reading. In my late teens I used to joke that I was going to have five wives - two to work so I could be lazy, a cook, a cleaner, and a personal assistant :D. However I generally thought seriously about it only in terms of evangelism in Africa. I have often heard stories of Christian missionaries converting polygynous African chiefs and requiring them to abandon all wives but one, and felt amazed that any Christian could actually support, much less require, such injustice. But God has developed my thoughts over time. I then realised that polygyny would actually be the perfect way for a missionary to integrate into African society and help his wife run the house in more primitive conditions than she was used to - marry a local girl, she can teach first wife how to live in Africa, first wife can teach second how to function in Western society, it seems perfect. It's just the one thing the church wouldn't allow.