• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Introduction: Southlander from Northern Idaho

Southlander

Greetings to one and all.

My wife, myself, and our four children live north of Moscow, Idaho. We are not poly married, but this is something that God has had on our hearts to wait on for the better part of 17 years now. Not sure if our calling is to be poly married, or just to be available and willing to minister to those who are.

I am a full time student at the University of Idaho (history major) and an ordained Orthodox Christian priest. My bishop and I recently had a conversation about polygyny in light of the recent court victory of the Sister Wives family. (I follow stuff like that, because my mothers family' are LDS to the 1850's and I am descended from at least two Mormon polygamists.) We both agreed that we needed to have a pastoral response ready at our disposal because we foresee this becoming a broader issue as more Christian poly families come out as such. We want to be ready to meet their needs. He gave his personal opinion that while he wouldn't recommend it, he would not turn someone away because of a poly marriage, either, and if they are truly in love and the marriage is working, why not? This is something I have been praying for for a long time! It is a breath of fresh air for me.

Anyway, I think this might be good start to welcoming poly families (who may have been rejected by their churches or who have to keep things secret, but don't want to) and perhaps I might start a parish one day, if anyone is seriously interested.

In the mean time, I want to introduce myself and get to know other poly and poly-friendly families here on the forum and in the NW US.

Welcome :)