• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

What of Romance?

MrB

Real Person*
Male
How does romance fit into family with more than one wife?
Obviously the needs of each wife are different depending on experience and situation.
What's fits the needs or wants of one will not always be what the other(s) need or want.

I'm interested to hear from wives and what you wanted vs what you got.
How is it watching your husband with another wife? What helps or doesn't?
And husbands and how they managed to deliver success or failure. What worked or didn't.

Is romance different in polygamy than monogamy?

Any experiences that are relevant to this.

Rich

I'll venture one response, keep in mind I have no practical experience here however. Romance as we think of it as in the western world is a false construct. Obviously we know romance is a biblical concept from the Song of Solomon, Abraham and Sarah, Isaac and Rebecca, Jacob and Rachel etc. But, it is never a reason to drive actions. It is a feeling and it is a byproduct of a God pleasing, well managed relationship between self-sacrificial people. At least real romance is.

Now the western view is that romance means that someone is experiencing "fuzzy" feelings because their needs are getting met. This is a very un-Godly view and will always lead to dissatisfaction and unhappiness in any relationship, no matter the kind or make-up.