• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

When discussing polygyny

Jeff Hall

Hey all.. newbie here. I'm a good friend of Dwight's. We both live in Tenn and he is the one that introduced me to the biblical truth of Polygyny.

I am now marrying my 2nd wife this weekend.

I don't have a whole lot of time to tell you about myself. I will post more after the honeymoon.
We're leaving out on Sunday after the ceremony to head to Branson for at least a week.

But I wanted to ask a question regarding yall's experience when discussing this with others. Here goes: Have you ever noticed that when the topic comes up, that right at the outset there is a quick change of method by the party opposing polygyny.

First it starts off with the usual assertion polygamy is a sin.
And then I start to list off all of the things in the bible that most of the dumbed down don't seem to know about. The figurative depiction God gives of Himself being married to two women in some places in the bible, the Levirite Marriage, the laws concerning polygyny, etc.

What happens next is so predictable. The opponent then switches to a different tactic. He will say, if polygamy is not wrong then where does it say that it is approved?

The person goes from a stance of stating that the bible condemns polygyny to a stance of saying that there is no approval for it.

Anyone else notice this subtle change?

Not always subtle, Jeff, and that's usually only the beginning.

The next step is the "well, OK, but it's NOT GOD's PREFERRED PLAN*." (Variants include that ole standby - "but, EVERY marriage in the Bible that's polygynous had problems!")

The real issue, I contend, is this:

Marriage is FUNDAMENTAL to God's relationship to His people, to those who hope to become his brides.