• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Article on polygamy in the NT period

FollowingHim

Administrator
Staff member
Real Person
Male
I'm no expert in this area, but have you read "The History and Philosophy of Marriage, or Polygamy and Monogamy Compared"? It's available in the books and links section of this site. It goes through in great detail how monogamy originated in Roman culture rather than Christianity, can't recall if it directly addresses this question off the top of my head (it's been a couple of months since I read it) but it's the most likely book I know of to address it.

Someone else will be able to answer the question more directly.

History:

Why would Augusting, writing circa 390 AD, say that he and his fellow theologians had, in their time, made polygamy a sin if it were not, at that time, still being practiced?

Why would Origen, the first known to have proposed Monogamy As God's Intention for Christians, have been declared a heretic by the other theologians if it were already the de facto thinking?

Those who argue for Paul's admonitions to Titus and Timothy as specifying monogamy for Deacons and Elders are crucified on their own logic. The very fact of limiting it for a specific group (if that was even Paul's intent, which is dubious), acknowledges both it's acceptability and practice amongst the group at large.