• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Does she call you lord?

NeoPatriarch

Real Person
Male
Does she call you lord?

Brothers and Patriarchs,

When I was a manager at Chick-fil-A we taught team members to speak in a "service language". You may have noticed the phrases "My pleasure." and "How may I serve you?" when you ordered your chicken nuggets and waffle fries. Perhaps it impacted you when you ate there.

How we speak to people has a direct impact on our attitude toward them. This shouldn't be a surprise to Christians.

Jas 3:2a-4 ... And if anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able also to bridle his whole body. If we put bits into the mouths of horses so that they obey us, we guide their whole bodies as well. Look at the ships also: though they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are guided by a very small rudder wherever the will of the pilot directs.

Perhaps, that is why Peter encourages wives to submit to their husband and call him lord, by citing the example of Sarah. Calling Abraham lord was certainly part of the way she submitted to him.

1Pe 3:5b-6 For this is how the holy women who hoped in God used to adorn themselves, by submitting to their own husbands, as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord.

So how does your wife address you? Dear Husband? Idiot? Hey you? How does it impact how she is able to submit to you? How does what she calls you impact your own behavior?

(Sisters,
What do you call your husband? Why?
Would you call him lord? Why or why not?
How does what you call your husband impact your attitude toward him?)

Haven't had much experience in being called "lord" in either marriage, and some of what I did have was done in sarcasm. But, ...