• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

I need some godly counsel on my marriage

InTheQuestion

Hi, this is my first time posting... I found this website several years ago, and it challenged my beliefs on plural marriage. In light of the arguments presented, my wife and I discussed the Scriptural teachings on marriage, and we both agreed that plural marriage is indeed Scriptural, though neither of us had any real practical desire to pursue it. However, I have still lurked, reading things on this site off and on. The people here often have a unique take on things, and I have been consistently impressed with the character and godly counsel of the people who frequent these forums.

Well, over the past year and a half, my wife and I have had some major problems. Or more accurately, I would say we've had problems from the start, but the events of the past year and a half have forced them to the surface, and we can no longer ignore them. We have sought counsel from our pastor and family, and we have gone to marriage counseling, but so far nothing has really helped. I don't know why I didn't think of it before now, but it occurred to me that this would be an excellent place to seek counsel. So I offer our story for anyone who may be able to help... I apologize in advance for the lengthiness of it.

THE BACKSTORY:
My wife and I have been married for 9 years. We are both in our early 30s, and we have a son in kindergarten. We get along really well, but we have never really developed much chemistry or romantic connection in our relationship. The way we went about getting married set the stage for this.