• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Question about my Daughter

ADHERE

Many of you all at BF know that I am new to polygyny. I believe wholeheartedly that polygyny is acceptable biblically. My wife had a conversation with our youngest daughter who will be 23yrs old in about a week. Our daughter is in college out of State and wants to come back home and finish up college here. It is because of her living arrangement, (which is a long story) in any case, she wants to come home and move in with her boyfriend that she have been dating for about two years. She has expressed to us that after she graduates from college that they were planning on getting married. Because I am still renewing my mind and uprooting all of the old traditional thinking, how do I deal with this situation. I know my daughter is grown and can make her own decisions. But how do I as a father deal with this.

According to what I read about biblical marriage, when two individuals make a commitment to love each other and live with each other technically they are married. (Am I correct in this?) if so, then should I as a father feel more at ease with this decision that she is making.

The other comment my daughter made to her mom was, that they want to live together to see if they will be able to handle it when they get married.

I must confess that I have not taught my children about biblical marriage and not being concerned about a marriage license. I just learned these things myself.

Can all those in this forum please help me so that I may have clarity in this matter.

Thank you all very much.

What the Scroptures says about Your Daughter's situation is pretty straight forward. If Her and this boyfriend have had what We call sex, then They're married. The license is man's crap, that, in My opinion should be avoided.