• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

What good is polygamy? Questions and accusations we get

eternitee

Real Person
Female
I am not an expert and do not have all the answers by any means, but here are some thoughts:
1. Why would you ever consider PM as it is illegal in our country?
Answer to inquiring friend: If you are defining marriage as a legal process then no worries we do not intend to break the law by getting multiple marriage licenses. That said are you seriously telling me that you are OK with the way our society usually runs things -men cheating on their women (baby mammas) in multiple serial relationships where the women and children end up abandoned? You have no intention of pursuing those men who fail to live up to their responsibilities but somehow want to pursue legal means to prosecute men who are NOT legally married to their women but make a commitment to love and care for them? Please explain your position because it makes no sense to me.
Please be assured that we respect the authority of the land and have no intention of breaking any laws. By the way did you ever get a speeding ticket?

2. Why would you bother to study something that is so obviously divisive in the church?
Answer: Why would you NOT study any and all parts of something God chose to share with us? Are you more scared of what the neighbors think than of what your God thinks?
3. Why would you bring this up to your wife? Has she become scared you are looking for another wife? (while we do not have any plans, my wife is more excited about the prospects than I for many reasons)