• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

What is it really like being a Second?

Okay so I know this post is probably going to be a little different then the norm on the site. However, with that said I want to know other's experiences being a SW the good, the bad and the ugly. I am pretty new to wanting to actually practice PM even though have believed in it a very long time. I guess I just want to prepare myself for the realities that are going to come along.

I appreciate any input from FW's as well on how the SW can make the transition easier on the FW?

Liz

I can only speak from my experience as FW and dating... That said, here are things I learned.

Don't try to displace the first wife... It seems obvious but it might as well be said. The circle is expanding, not shifting. If in the beginning the husband turns to his FW with problems, don't take it personally, it is just born out of years of him leaning on her and is not a reflection of you or your relationship with him. It takes time to build relationships, it doesn't happen overnight. This was a huge issue with a potential we were seeing as she kept whining that "he preferred me". Well, yes, I suppose he did but at that point we had been together 15 years and it was a comfortable thing to turn to each other. She took it personally that she did not instantly have that but never once did she try to actually build a relationship with hubby. Ultimately, she wanted her half and most of mine too and I wasn't giving it, which frustrated her since she very much had an attitude that I had my time so I should just disappear in the shadows and hand her my family and let her catch up. Yeah, doesn't work that way.