• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Aging Gracefully

porkchop

My husband and I have been talking about this for several years and we don’t really have any good answers so wanted to have some input from everyone here. This is our deal:

My in-laws are both in their mid 80’s and both have cancer among other ailments. My Father-in-Law has fallen numerous times and broken hips a total of 3 times with one fall resulting in hip replacement surgery. He’s cracked ribs, ran his lawn mower off into a creek and was pinned under it with no one home to help him and wrecked his van so many times we gave up counting.

My Mother-in-Law weighs about 90 pounds, falls all the time, has fallen down the stairs and cracked ribs, blackened eyes, and is quite feeble physically.

Between the two of them they’ve burned down one house (left a pile of leaves burning and forgot about it), almost caught their own house on fire because a hat was put in the oven to dry and forgotten, stove eyes get left on constantly, water gets left running constantly; and these are just the high-lights (trust me). They get stopped by the cops constantly because their driving is so bad they get mistaken for drunk drivers.

So, my question is: What does it mean to Christian’s to age gracefully? How do we honor parents who refuse to be responsible and make an effort to help in their own care?

Neither of my Grandmothers would move in with anyone. One broke her ankle twice before my mom finally stepped in and forced her to move into a retirement facility. She hated every day of it but she couldn’t live out in a rural area 45 minutes from all of us. The other Grandmother did a similar thing. All of us 4 kids offered to move each of them in with us but neither would have any part of it.