• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Conflicting views.

So, I'm relatively new to my research and I've been finding several different sources citing passages from the bible both for and against polygamy. My question is, how do you knows what to believe? Either way, society will be set against it. I'd just like to read some of y'all's opinion .

Read the scriptures, for what they say, in their context and then think about it logically. I've seen the same thing you speak about on many issues, people interpreting a passage a dozen different ways. But what is almost always the case is that a plain English reading will bear the truth.

Most of your anti-poly quotations from the NT rely on a bait and switch technique; for example, construing passages about divorce to be about poly or injunctions for elders to be for all Christians.

What has been said is excellent advice. I would add Psalms 119:160 ASV "The sum of thy word is truth; And every one of thy righteous ordinances endureth for ever."

Scripture says "the sum of thy word is truth" so it all has to be taken as a whole. Verses can't be cherry picked, and taken out of context without the end result being a distorted mess that won't make sense to anyone!

I have often looked at it like a puzzle, the pieces by themselves don't always make sense, but when they are all put together, you get the beautiful picture of biblical marriage, and how it relates to our own walk with our savior.

Last edited:
I recommend Clyde Pilkington, Jr.'s book, The Great Omission, available at studyshelf.com.

Also the book, Man and woman in biblical law by Tom Shipley.
Excellent book I've cited in various papers I've written...

My question is, how do you knows what to believe?