• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Fairness with material stuff

cubanito

Real Person
Male
Hi everyone, sorry I haven't been here in a while. I had some strong turbulence in my life lately.
Well, lately I have been talking with a possible candidate for a few months and last night ran into something awkward. I mentioned to my prospect I was buying my first wife a corset she wanted for the last couple of weeks and it was a little expensive (probably should not have said anything) but, she got upset or jealous because i was buying her something a little fancy and she did not get any fancy stuff from me, "just several smaller things". She said she felt second class but, I reminded her I just gave her a nice camera worth the same and I spend 5 times as much (per weekend) flying there to see her on the weekends. Each weekend is expensive just on hotels meals transportation, entertainment, meals, etc. I went there 5 times to see her in the last few months and she doesn’t consider that something worth counting, maybe she’s taking things for granted, my effort etc. It got ugly and we went to bed upset. Maybe we should lay down some ground rules about allowances and try to make things fair? I don't know, does anyone know what might be the best way to deal with that.
My first wife is very low maintenance and normally doesn't ask for much, she takes care of the home, kids, food, etc, I think she deserves a little something once in a while...
Is this a normal problem?
Any advice is appreciated.. Thanks
Cubanito

Hi Cubanito,

Is your wife also going with you on these visits to get to know this woman? I ask since it is important that they develop a strong friendship. I think if both of these women are bonding and developing a friendship they would care more for each other.