• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Lessons learned

NBTX11

Seasoned Member
Real Person
Male
I thought I would share a few thoughts for those seeking polygyny from my short experience with two wives for the past 6 months. There’s nothing groundbreaking here. This is just common sense stuff here. Many have way more experience than me. I’m a beginner. I’m just sharing some things I’ve learned.

Don’t rush the marriage. There are no do overs. Work out major differences beforehand and make sure you solve show stopper problems before committing. We did go fairly fast. My rationale was, God has only given me so much time on earth, and I know I have to be with her, so why wait. I think most would agree a slower approach would be best for most people. Work out major issues with first wife and new wife. Try as best as you can to ease first wife concerns up front. You do not want to be fighting battles later.

Commit forever. New wife may have her issues. You’ve committed and aren’t going anywhere. Resolve in your heart there will never ever be a divorce and you will work through everything and never abandon her. She’s yours. You took her now stay with her.

Be fair. Common sense here. Wives can tell if/when you’re favoring one over the other. Every little detail can’t always be equal but you can be fair. Do something special for one wife? Make it a point to do something for other wife. Don’t favor a wife or have a favorite wife. This is hard when you have a new wife, because naturally you’re going to want to be with her. Don’t forget about first wife. Make it a point to be with her as well.