• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Texas Law

cnystrom

Seasoned Member
Real Person
Male
I was looking at Texas law:

http://law.onecle.com/texas/penal/25.01.00.html

When something occurred to me. To be guilty of this law one must be legally married to someone. If you are not legally married, then you can not be guilty because you would not fit under "he is legally married and he..." (note the AND).

Just a thought.

Note: I am not a lawyer.

This another reason why some of us are examining the term "marriage" all together. The states and nation as a whole has basically trademarked and/or copyrighted the terms husband, wife, and marriage by classifying it as a legal set of terms. But the Bible never uses the terms in that light. In actuality the term marriage and wife were Romanist state terms created back around the 11 to 14th century. These terms were carried over into Colonial America by the faithful and devout Pilgrims and Puritans but in this area they carried over a Roman doctrine that is still with us today.

You are correct the law code there is about "legally being married" which in most cases requires a legal certificate through the judicial system for it to be that. However, some issues can arise through the use of the terms which can lead to common law unions. If a couple presents themselves to be husband and wife then in some places, even by Supreme Court Case law, they are legally married. That could then cause a problem.