• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Thou Shalt Not Have Any Other Gods Before me

Maddog

Male
In Exodus we find the Rules as first written. "Thou shalt not have any other gods before me" is one of them. Does this mean that His followers cannot have any other gods at all or just in first place because He is first? The gods of the world do exist and many believers acknowledge them regularly as in "sun god day" every week.
Additionally we are commanded Not to have any "graven images" or images carved or otherwise made to look like animate objects. Does this mean we cant have cutesy little figurines of cats or dogs or princesses? Or was the emphasis to not worship them but we can have all the little "Precious Moments" figurines or dolls we want? How about a Buddha figurine? I am still learning the rules as God gave them but traditional Christianity has allowed many things into our daily lives under the guise of "freedom". I study the cost of being a God follower before making a jump into being Torah observant. Another way of putting it- how strict is it?

"Before me" can also be read as "in my sight" and God can see everywhere so...

And a graven image is an idol or object of worship. Unless you worship your Teddy bear I think it's okay to have one.

Additionally we are commanded Not to have any "graven images" or images carved or otherwise made to look like animate objects. Does this mean we cant have cutesy little figurines of cats or dogs or princesses? Or was the emphasis to not worship them but we can have all the little "Precious Moments" figurines or dolls we want?
God directly commanded statues of cherubim to be made for the Ark of the Covenant.