• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Baptism by fire and other things

starlit

Hi ladies,

Im a new member. I was actually referred by a friend that comes on here. I am always so hesitant to talk about myself because its seems, well, awkward. But i want to tell my story. So here goes.

I was baptised by fire to plural marriage. I "discovered" plural marriage about 6 yrs or so ago. I studied it on my own, read books, read scriptures, studied online, went online and talked to others. I prayed about it. I had this overwhelming testimony that i was to be a plural wife. I made the "mistake" of meeting the wrong family online and being courted by them. I put the words discovered and mistake in parenthesis because i really don't believe there are mistakes in life, i think every event that happens in our lives is put there by God to test our agency and to help us grow. Needless to say the courtship was a disaster. Most people would have gave up and said plural marriage is evil. Not me. I did take some time to recover from my experience. My heart was in a million pieces. Not only did i lose the friendship of the husband and the wife, but i lost the relationship i had building with their four children. To give you a heads up, the worst part of the whole ordeal was that the wife pretended to have a testimony of plural marriage when she didn't.