• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

General Brand New and Trying to Make Up my mind

Reuben

Male
Hello,
I'm brand new to this site and only discovered it because I have been researching this topic for several months now because I have been feeling compelled to have a second wife, but I did not know if my feelings were Biblical or sinful. I love my first wife and my existing children, but I still want more children and help for my first wife as well. I'm just not really sure what the "right" reasons are for having a second wife??? Is there a "right" or "wrong" reason (or feelings/desires) to seek a second wife? If so, what are they? I haven't even talked to my wife about this yet so I don't know how she would respond. I'm trying to figure it out as I go. Thanks for any insights or support!! Glad I found this site!!!

Welcome! There really isn't a set list of right or wrong reasons. I think that it depends on the individual, what's right for you may be wrong for someone else. It really all boils down to what God wants for you. Maybe it's a second wife. Maybe it's just having the knowledge of PM so you can help someone else. Maybe it's a wife who can't have children but wants to be part of a family. This is as much about what you can do for another wife as what a second wife can do for you and your family.

Please take it slowly with your wife. Understand that she most likely won't take this very well at first, and it may take years for her to wrap her head around it. Give her the space to let the Holy Spirit work on her. Love her, show her kindness, trust, and leadership.