• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Is the Johnson amendment no more?

Can't wait to hear what Rush Limbaugh has to say about this tomorrow!

The Johnson Amendment is a provision in the U.S. tax code, since 1954, that prohibits all 501(c)(3) non-profit organizations from endorsing or opposing political candidates. Section 501(c)(3) organizations are the most common type of nonprofit organization in the United States, ranging from charitable foundations to universities and churches. The amendment is named for then-Senator Lyndon B. Johnson of Texas, who introduced it in a preliminary draft of the law in July 1954.
-Wikipedia

So how exactly can an executive order override US law?
I’m no expert, but it looks like he has simply instructed the IRS to stop enforcing the law.

It is statutory law. But there is wide latitude in its interpretation.

And in this case, although it is not widely enforced against churches, it has had a significant dampening affect on legal speech of pastors in their churches and enforcement of the Johnson amendment against conservative groups was stepped up during the Obama Administration. It seems this executive order is intended to stop the IRS from censoring sermons or targeting pastors.

In contrast, actual 501(c)3 organizations pretty much disregard the Johnson amendment with impunity; especially liberal orgs.

The Johnson Amednment was always unconstitutional anyway when it comes to churches...

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech

Now we just need to get the pastors to quit forming 501(c)3's and have only Jesus as their head. And in that context, this is actually a bad move. We got a nicer Satan, which means fewer churches will seek obedience only to Christ.