• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Nick currently in Virginia

NS4Liberty

Male
Hi! I am new to the idea that polygyny is an acceptable form of marriage under the New Testament. Honestly, I have been trying to find an argument against it, because if it is true then that changes the entire nature of marriage as I have been taught.

I come from a background in the church of Christ. The funny thing is growing up in the church of Christ you are told we do things like the First Century Christians. I didn't know until earlier this year Jews were still practicing polygyny in the first century.

Anyway, I am married. I started talking about patriarchy to my wife and she started making jokes about me starting a cult and having multiple wives. I haven't had the guts to tell her where I am at on that front. We are both still trying to figure out our places of Leader and Follower. I'm not a good leader, but I am working on it.

Other than that I am in law school here in Virginia for 1 more year. Because of that I probably won't be super active, but I will be popping in once in a while.

This is the article that originally convinced me: https://www.bereanpatriot.com/is-polygamy-polygyny-biblical-does-god-allow-it/

Welcome!
You absolutely must update us now and then on how your patriarchal discussions are going with your wife 😊

Welcome to Biblical Families :).

We have a support system here for women, so when you have that conversation with your wife, let her know that she can come on here and talk with the other women. We have a ladies chat on Monday nights that she would be welcome to join. I promise we're not a cult, lol.

Shalom and welcome. Particularly interesting to hear your law school connection... always fun when 'legal eyes' are willing to seek Truth.. please do stay engaged as you are able.