• Biblical Families is not a dating website. It is a forum to discuss issues relating to marriage and the Bible, and to offer guidance and support, not to find a wife. Click here for more information.

Talking or courting?

Patricia C

Seasoned Member
Real Person
Female
Because I am still very new to all of this i need help understanding.
When you are talking to someone of the opposite sex at what point does it become a courtship?
Should a woman talk to a man if his wife is not involved in the getting to know you phase?
PM feels so much more sacred than a monogamous marriage that meets worldly standards..... to me at this stage in my life anyway.
I want to be cautious so not to stumble anyone or myself. Sooo those of you in a poly marriage can you give me the lowdown LOL on how this works

I think courtship begins at the getting to know you better/deeper stage though it may or may not become official due to a lack of interest at some point or being friend zoned.

Each family has their own methods for their SW search. Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with having conversations with him. Some wives prefer not to become involved unless and until it looks more promising or serious. Some wives like to do the searching themselves, and some of them from an earlier point than others. At some point, IMO, I would advise that you insist on her knowledge and some interaction with her, though I don’t think that it has to be immediate. Though I am unaware of it from people on this site, I have seen / heard of men on other poly dating sites leading women on for some time, even to the point of being heavily emotionally invested, and then the wife or the family is really not ready for another addition and the man backs out because of so much negative pressure at home. Just be careful and guard your heart and be careful of the commitments you give.

BTW, I’m just married to one, so take it for what its worth.